The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum and the National Curriculum determine what should be taught and apply to all state schools in England and Wales. 

The National Curriculum is divided into two Key Stages in primary schools.

Key Stage 1:   Years 1 & 2
Key Stage 2:   Years 3,4,5 & 6



(Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum)



Book Band Reading Scheme Books EYFS, KS1 & KS2


Children follow the book bands for reading throughout the school, until they are considered confident and competent enough to become a ‘free reader.’ Book bands are stocked with both fiction and non-fiction texts from a range of schemes, including:


  • Oxford Reading Tree (including Biff, Chip and Kipper series, Oxford Treetops, Time Chronicles, All Stars, Snapdragons, Project X and inFact)

  • Ginn (including Lighthouse, Ginn 360, All Aboard and Pocket Reads)

  • PM Story Books

  • Pearson Bug Club fiction, non-fiction and plays

  • Collins Big Cat

  • Rigby Star Independent

  • Heinemann Story Worlds

  • Full Flight





Provision for phonics in EYFS and KS1 follows the Letters and Sounds publication. This systematic phonics programme is delivered through the use of TES phonics and Phonicsplay.







St Gabriel's Catholic Primary School, Well Lane, Alsager, Stoke-on-Trent ST7 2PG